top of page

"Just Like Me": An Exercise of Compassion


Become aware that there is a person in front of me. A fellow human being, just like me.

Let us now consider a few things:

“This person has a body and a mind, just like me. This person has feelings, emotions and thoughts, just like me. This person has at some point been sad, disappointed, angry, hurt or confused, just like me. This person has in his or her life, experienced physical and emotional pain and suffering, just like me. This person wishes to be free from pain and suffering, just like me. This person wishes to be safe, healthy and loved, just like me. This person wishes to be happy, just like me.”

Now, let’s allow some wishes to arise:

“I wish for this person to have the strength, resources, and social support to navigate the difficulties in life. I wish for this person to be free from pain and suffering I wish for this person to be happy.

Because this person is a fellow human being, just like me.”

Repeat these phrases until you start to open up to the other person in a non-judgmental, accepting way.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page